# Appendix C. Milestones

## C.1 New Faculty and Staff

**Dr. Wolfgang Ketterle** was appointed Assistant Professor of Physics on September 1, 1993. Professor Ketterle is a principal investigator of RLE's Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics Group.

**Dr. M. Selim Shahriar** (SB '86, SM '89, PhD '91) was appointed as a research scientist in RLE's Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics Group, effective September 1, 1993.

William H. Smith was appointed RLE Fiscal Officer effective July 1, 1993.

Mary E. Young was appointed RLE Assistant Fiscal Officer effective April 18, 1994.

#### C.2 Retirements

**Donald F. Duffy**, retired as RLE Fiscal Officer on June 30, 1993, after 31 years of service at MIT.

**Campbell L. Searle**, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, retired after serving forty-five years at MIT.

### C.3 Chair Appointments

**Dr. Gregory W. Wornell** (SM '87, PhD '91), Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, was appointed to the ITT Career Development Assistant Professorship, effective July 1, 1993. Professor Wornell is a principal investigator in RLE's Digital Signal Processing Group.

#### C.4 Awards and Honors

**Dr. Boris L. Altshuler**, Professor of Physics, was announced as corecipient of the 1993 Hewlett-Packard Europhysics Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Solid-State Physics by the European Physical Society. Professor Altshuler is a principal investigator in RLE's Surfaces and Interfaces Group.

**Dr. Arthur B. Baggeroer** (SM/EE '65, ScD '68), Ford Professor of Engineering and Professor of Electrical and Ocean Engineering, received the Ocean Engineering Society's 1992 Distinguished Technical Achievement Award. Professor

Baggeroer is a principal investigator in RLE's Digital Signal Processing Group.

**Dr. Bruno Coppi**, Professor of Physics, received the Special Prize for Scientific Research of the Prime Minister of Italy. In addition, Professor Coppi, a principal investigator in RLE's Plasma Physics Group, was appointed to a three-year term as a senior fellow of the Italian Academy for Advanced Studies in America and also received the 1993 Italgas Prize for Energy Science.

**Dr. Jesús A. del Alamo**, Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, was awarded MIT's Harold E. Edgerton Award. In addition to his research, Professor del Alamo, a principal investigator in RLE's Materials and Fabrication Group, was recognized for his excellent teaching skills and service to the MIT community.

**Dr. James G. Fujimoto** (SB '79, SM '81, PhD '84), Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, was elected to fellow in the Optical Society of America. Professor Fujimoto is a principal investigator in RLE's Optics and Devices Group.

**Dr. Jacqueline N. Hewitt** (PhD '86), Assistant Professor of Physics and Class of 1948 Career Development Professor, was awarded the Henry G. Booker Prize from the International Union of Radio Science (URSI). Professor Hewitt is a principal investigator in RLE's Radio Astronomy Group.

**Dr. Marc A. Kastner**, Donner Professor of Science, was appointed director of MIT's Center for Materials Science and Engineering, effective July 1, 1993. Professor Kastner is a principal investigator in RLE's Quantum-Effect Devices Group.

**Dr. Leslie A. Kolodziejski**, Karl R. Van Tassel Career Development Associate Professor, was selected to serve a three-year term as Esther and Harold E. Edgerton Associate Professor, effective September 1, 1993. Professor Kolodziejski is a principal investigator in RLE's Materials and Fabrication Group.

Campbell L. Searle, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, and Dr. William M. Siebert (SB '46, ScD '52), Ford Professor of Engineering in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, were named corecipients of the Department Head's Special Recognition Award. Professor Siebert is a member of RLE's Auditory Physiology Group.

**Dr. David H. Staelin** (BS '60, MS '61, ScD '65), Assistant Director of Lincoln Laboratory and Cecil H. Green Professor of Electrical Engineering, was awarded the IEEE Signal Processing Society's 1992 Senior Award in the image processing and multidimensional signal processing area. Professor Staelin is a principal investigator in RLE's Radio Astronomy Group.

**Dr. Jerome B. Wiesner**, Institute Professor, received the National Academy of Sciences' highest honor, its Public Welfare Medal, in 1993 for his devoted and successful efforts in science policy, education, nuclear disarmament, and world peace. Over the years, Dr. Wiesner's record of service has included tenures as RLE director, MIT president, and presidential science advisor to Presidents Kennedy and Johnson.